Recently, Disney invited me to attend the red carpet Disney Pixar Coco premiere! It was held at the El Capitan Theatre in Los Angeles, California. This was my first red carpet event to attend. It was unlike anything I had ever done. As someone who previously worked in the movie and television industry, it was incredible to experience this. If you didn’t know that about me, you can read my last article.

Theresa Pickett of Theresa's Reviews attended the Disney Pixar's Coco red carpet premiere

Theresa Pickett of Theresa’s Reviews attended the Disney Pixar’s Coco red carpet premiere party.

Red Carpet Disney Pixar Coco Premiere Party

To give you a brief overview of the event, I made a Youtube video to show you what it was like. Check it out below!

People In Attendance

In attendance at the Pixar Coco premiere were the amazing talent and makers of the movie. From left to right, you can see actor Benjamin Bratt, producer Darla K. Anderson, creator and director Lee Unkrich, executive producer John Lasseter, Pixar’s newest star Anthony Gonzalez, and co-director/screenwriter Adrian Molina.

HOLLYWOOD, CA – NOVEMBER 08: (L-R) Actor Benjamin Bratt, Producer Darla K. Anderson, Director Lee Unkrich, Executive Producer John Lasseter, Actor Anthony Gonzalez, and Co-director/Screenwriter Adrian Molina at the U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar’s “Coco” at the El Capitan Theatre on November 8, 2017, in Hollywood, California. (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for Disney)

Also in attendance was the gorgeous actress Alanna Ubach. She plays the voice of Mamá Imelda, and she was looking stunning in a floor-length dark red gown. While well known for her role as Serena in Legally Blonde, she is also on the television series Girlfriends’ Guide to Divorce.

HOLLYWOOD, CA – NOVEMBER 08: Actor Alanna Ubach at the U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar’s “Coco” at the El Capitan Theatre on November 8, 2017, in Hollywood, California. (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for Disney) *** Local Caption *** Alanna Ubach

Olaf’s Frozen Adventure

Idina Menzel was there for the premiere of Olaf’s Frozen Adventure. This 22 minute featurette exclusively plays before Coco for a limited time.

From left to right, you can see actor Jonathan Groff, songwriter Kate Anderson, actor Idina Menzel, producer Roy Conli, and directors Stevie Wermers-Skelton and Kevin Deters.

"<yoastmark

Below you can see a photo that the press got of the same moment. They also got in songwriter Elyssa Samsel on the far left. This was an exciting moment. I’m a big Frozen fan, and I can’t wait for Frozen 2.

:HOLLYWOOD, CA - NOVEMBER 08: (L-R) Songwriter Elyssa Samsel, Actor Jonathan Groff, Songwriter Kate Anderson, Actor Idina Menzel, Producer Roy Conli, and Directors Stevie Wermers-Skelton and Kevin Deters of "Olaf’s Frozen Adventure" at the U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar’s "Coco" at the El Capitan Theatre on November 8, 2017, in Hollywood, California. "Olaf’s Frozen Adventure" featurette opens in front of Disney-Pixar’s original feature “Coco” for a limited time. (Photo by Jesse Grant/Getty Images for Disney)

HOLLYWOOD, CA – NOVEMBER 08: (L-R) Songwriter Elyssa Samsel, Actor Jonathan Groff, Songwriter Kate Anderson, Actor Idina Menzel, Producer Roy Conli, and Directors Stevie Wermers-Skelton and Kevin Deters of “Olaf’s Frozen Adventure” at the U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar’s “Coco” at the El Capitan Theatre on November 8, 2017, in Hollywood, California. “Olaf’s Frozen Adventure” featurette opens in front of Disney-Pixar’s original feature “Coco” for a limited time. (Photo by Jesse Grant/Getty Images for Disney)

What It Was Like To Go To A Hollywood Premiere

Being at the premiere party was a fabulous experience. It reminded me of how fantastic Disney is at entertainment. Seeing the neon lights from the street of Hollywood filled me with excitement.

The USA Pixar Coco premiere was at El Capitan Theatre in Los Angeles on Thursday, November 9, 2017.

The USA Pixar Coco premiere was at El Capitan Theatre in Los Angeles on Thursday, November 9, 2017.

The Pixar Coco premiere party was strikingly visual, which was very fitting for such a visual film. It also did a good job of showing the Mexican culture. There were dancers, Mexican music, and traditional food. The bright colors of the dancer’s clothing were beautiful!

HOLLYWOOD, CA – NOVEMBER 08: Dancers perform at the U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar’s “Coco” at the El Capitan Theatre on November 8, 2017, in Hollywood, California. (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for Disney)

Seeing the decorations, dancing, and excitement made me value today’s entertainment industry more than I already did. It was a very uplifting event, which went along with how uplifting the movie was.

Every moment leading up to the premiere was wonderful. In the minutes before the movie started, I was sitting at the edge of my seat. Dancers walked out around the stage, and marigold flower petals flew in the air.

Theresa Pickett at the USA premiere of Disney Pixar's Coco in Los Angeles.

Theresa Pickett at the USA premiere of Disney Pixar’s Coco in Los Angeles.


I enjoyed being in the front row to see it all. My full movie review is also up today. In the Coco movie review, I share my reaction to the movie, but I don’t give away any spoilers.

After The Coco Premiere Party

When I left the premiere, I spotted Mexican actress Georgie Flores, who plays one of my favorite television characters, Cassandra Perkins on Famous in Love. On her television show, her role is an aspiring actress who becomes unhappy when her friend’s career becomes more successful than her own career.

As someone who once dreamed of being an actress, it was awesome to meet her, especially after watching a movie that inspires you to live your dream. Also, it is interesting to realize that she shares my daughter’s name, Georgiana.

After the movie, the other bloggers and I took our photo at the Oscars stairs. This is the spot that leads up to the Dolby Theatre where the Oscars take place in Hollywood. Being at this location was incredible. The most impressive and talented people of the entertainment industry walk up these same stairs to have their movies recognized.

"<yoastmark

In the next two weeks, you can come back to Theresa’s Reviews for interviews with the actors and filmmakers of Disney Pixar’s Coco.

Plus, I’ve been live Tweeting and sharing all these fantastic moments on my social media. If you’d like to support my new social media addiction (I mean, can I even go 5 minutes without updating everyone on my life now?), be sure to follow Theresa’s Reviews on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and Youtube.

Pixar Coco Trailer & About The Movie

Despite his family’s baffling generations-old ban on music, Miguel (voice of Anthony Gonzalez) dreams of becoming an accomplished musician like his idol, Ernesto de la Cruz (voice of Benjamin Bratt). Desperate to prove his talent, Miguel finds himself in the stunning and colorful Land of the Dead following a mysterious chain of events. Along the way, he meets charming trickster Héctor (voice of Gael García Bernal), and together, they set off on an extraordinary journey to unlock the real story behind Miguel’s family history.

Directed by Lee Unkrich (“Toy Story 3”), co-directed by Adrian Molina (story artist “Monsters University”) and produced by Darla K. Anderson (“Toy Story 3”), Disney•Pixar’s “Coco” opens in U.S. theaters on Nov. 22, 2017. For more information, check out Coco, Hashtag: #PixarCoco, Pixar Coco Facebook, Pixar Coco Twitter and Pixar Coco Instagram.

You also might like 5 Must Try Tips For The Ultimate Kid-Friendly Oscar Party and Disney Pixar’s COCO Activity Sheets.

Disclosure: I received a free item, but it in no way influenced my opinion.

About The Author

Owner And Editor
Google+

Theresa has been writing since 2010 in magazines and online. Her lifestyle and parenting expertise has been featured in publications, including ShopSmart and Scholastic. She earned an M.Ed in Elementary Education from Vanderbilt as well as a BA in History from Flagler College, and she is a certified teacher.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.